Smith, Lithgow, Foy Join Netflix’s “Crown”

Matt Smith, Claire Foy and John Lithgow have all joined the cast of Netflix’s new original series “The Crown”.

The series is based on Peter Morgan’s play “The Audience” and is set over several decades around two of the world’s most famous addresses – Buckingham Palace and 10 Downing Street.

This explores the inside story of those two addresses and the intrigues, romances and machinations behind the events that shaped post-war Britain. Foy will play Queen Elizabeth II, Smith will play her husband Prince Philip, Lithgow will play Prime Minister Winston Churchill.

Morgan will serve as a writer on the series while Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin and Julian Jarrold will direct episodes. The ten episode series will premiere next year.

Source: Variety