“First Reformed,” “Favourite” Lead Gotham Noms

The first awards of the season, the Gotham Awards honoring independent film, has announced its nominations with “First Reformed,” “The Favourite,” “If Beale Street Could Talk,” “Madeline’s Madeline” and “The Rider” all in contention for the best film of the year.

“BlacKkKlansman,” “Hereditary,” “Leave No Trace,” “Can You Ever Forgive Me?,” “Sorry to Bother You,” “Roma,” “Eighth Grade,” “The Tale,” “Skate Kitchen,” “Support the Girls,” and “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” are also all up for honors (in some cases multiple honors).

Paul Schrader’s “First Reformed,” starring Ethan Hawke as a conflicted priest, scored the most nominations overall including film, actor and script. “The Favourite” nabbed film and script noms, and has already been awarded a special jury prize for its cast of Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz.

Previous Best Feature winners include “Call Me by Your Name,” “Moonlight,” “Spotlight,” Birdman,” “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Moonrise Kingdom” and “Winter’s Bone”. The 26th annual Gotham Awards will be held on November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street.

Best Feature
“The Favourite” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
“First Reformed (A24)
“If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)
“Madeline’s Madeline” (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
“The Rider” (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Documentary
“Bisbee ‘17” (4th Row Films)
“Hale County This Morning, This Evening” (The Cinema Guild)
“Minding the Gap” (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)
“Shirkers” (Netflix)
“Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” (Focus Features)

Best Actor
Adam Driver in “BlacKkKlansman” (Focus Features)
Ben Foster in “Leave No Trace” (Bleecker Street)
Richard E. Grant in “Can You Ever Forgive Me?” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Ethan Hawke in “First Reformed” (A24)
Lakeith Stanfield in “Sorry to Bother You” (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Actress
Glenn Close in “The Wife” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Toni Collette in “Hereditary” (A24)
Kathryn Hahn in “Private Life” (Netflix)
Regina Hall in “Support the Girls” (Magnolia Pictures)
Michelle Pfeiffer in “Where is Kyra?” (Paladin and Great Point Media)

The 2018 Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in “The Favourite” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor
Yalitza Aparicio in “Roma” (Netflix)
Elsie Fisher in “Eighth Grade” (A24)
Helena Howard in “Madeline’s Madeline” (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
KiKi Layne in “If Beale Street Could Talk” (Annapurna Pictures)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in “Leave No Trace” (Bleecker Street)

Breakthrough Director Award
Ari Aster for “Hereditary” (A24)
Bo Burnham for “Eighth Grade” (A24)
Jennifer Fox for “The Tale” (HBO)
Crystal Moselle for “Skate Kitchen” (Magnolia Pictures)
Boots Riley for “Sorry to Bother You” (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Screenplay
“The Favourite,” Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
“First Reformed,” Paul Schrader (A24)
“Private Life,” Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
“Support the Girls,” Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)
“Thoroughbreds,” Cory Finley (Focus Features)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
“Alias Grace,” (Netflix)
“The End of the F—ing World,” (Netflix)
“Killing Eve” (BBC America)
“Pose” (FX Networks)
“Sharp Objects” (HBO)