Mendes, Deakins Win Guild Awards For “1917”

Full Trailer Sam Mendes 1917

The unbroken single shot WW1 epic “1917” has maintained its position as the front runner to take the Best Picture Oscar this year following two major guild wins this weekend.

The film’s director Sam Mendes won the top prize at this year’s Director’s Guild Awards. Mendes took Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film, beating out the likes of Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Bong Joon Ho and Taika Waititi for the honor.

That’s not all though as the American Society of Cinematographers held their awards as well and Roger Deakins took the top prize for “1917,” beating out Lawrence Sher (“Joker”), Phedon Papamichael (“Ford vs. Ferrari”), Rodrigo Prieto (“The Irishman”) and Robert Richardson (“Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”).

The DGA’s also saw Alma Har’el winning the debut directing honor for “Honey Boy,” Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert won best documentary for “American Factory,” while on TV the winners included Nicole Kassell (“Watchmen”), Bill Hader (“Barry”) and Johan Renck (“Chernobyl”).

The ASC’s also handed out awards to “Honeyland,” “The Lighthouse,” “The Terror: Infamy,” “Project Blue Book” and “The Handmaid’s Tale”.

Source: DGA, ASC