“Amadeus,” “Clerks,” “Platoon” Join NFR

Amadeus Clerks Platoon Join Nfr

The National Film Registry has announced this year’s twenty-five film inclusions, these movies now set to be preserved by the Library of Congress “because of their cultural, historic and aesthetic importance to the nation’s film heritage”. The total number of movies now preserved is up to 775.

Among the highlights are Milos Forman’s legendary biopic “Amadeus,” Kevin Smith’s iconic indie comedy “Clerks,” Oliver Stone’s war drama “Platoon,” the McNamara documentary “The Fog of War,” the Prince-led “Purple Rain,” Disney’s “Sleeping Beauty” and Spike Lee’s early comedy “She’s Gotta Have It”.

Representative Carla Hayden said in a statement: “The National Film Registry has become an important record of American history, culture and creativity. Unlike many other honors, the registry is not restricted to a time, place or genre. It encompasses 130 years of the full American cinematic experience, a virtual Olympiad of motion pictures. With the support of Congress, the studios and other archives, we are ensuring that the nation’s cinematic history will be around for generations to come.”

The full list of additions is as follows: Amadeus (1984), Becky Sharp (1935), Before Stonewall (1984), Body And Soul (1925), Boys Don’t Cry (1999), Clerks (1994), Coal Miner’s Daughter (1980), Emigrants Landing At Ellis Island (1903), Employees Entrance (1933), Fog Of War (2003), Gaslight (1944), George Washington Carver At Tuskegee Institute (1937), Girlfriends (1978), I Am Somebody (1970), The Last Waltz (1978), My Name Is Oona (1969), A New Leaf (1971), Old Yeller (1957), The Phenix City Story (1955), Platoon (1986), Purple Rain (1984), Real Women Have Curves (2002), She’s Gotta Have It (1986), Sleeping Beauty (1959), Zoot Suit (1981)

Source: NFR