Photo: Jean-Luc Picard Series Writer’s Room

Photo Jean Luc Picard Series Writers Room

Kirsten Beyer, Michael Chabon, Akiva Goldsman, Diandra Pendleton-Thompson and James Duff have all been confirmed as the writers of the upcoming CBS All Access series about the iconic “Star Trek: The Next Generation” character Captain Jean-Luc Picard.

Sir Patrick Stewart is reprising his role for the series and showed the team hard at work in a photo today from a script meeting. “Star Trek: Discovery” co-creator and executive producer Alex Kurtzman will oversee development on the new show, which will continue Picard’s story years after he commanded the Enterprise.

Oscar nominee Akiva Goldsman’s previous TV credits include not only ‘Discovery’ but also “Fringe” and the upcoming “Titans”. Michael Chabon is a celebrated author and writer of the “John Carter” film adaptation, Emmy nominee James Duff is the creator of TNT’s “The Closer” and “Major Crimes,” Kirsten Beyer is a staff writer on ‘Discovery’, and Diandra Pendleton-Thompson is a short film writer/director and PA at Entity FX.

All bar Pendleton-Thompson will executive produce. Stewart played the role of Picard through seven seasons of “Star Trek: The Next Generation” and four films – his last outing being in 2002.