Winter Sleep Wins The Palme d’Or

Nuri Bilge Ceylan’s “Winter Sleep” has won the coveted Palme d’Or at the 67th Cannes Film Festival.

The runner-up Grand Priz prize went to Alice Rohrwacher’s “The Wonders”, whilst a special Jury Prize was given to both Jean-Luc Godard’s “Goodbye to Language” and Xavier Dolan’s “Mommy”.

Actor Timothy Spall won Best Actor for his work in Mike Leigh’s “Mr. Turner,” Julianne Moore took Best Actress for her role in David Cronenberg’s “Maps to the Stars,” and Bennett Miller won Best Director for the highly acclaimed “Foxcatcher”.

Screenplay honors went to Andrei Zviagyntsev and Oleg Negin for “Leviathan,” and cinematography honors to “Party Girl”.

Earlier, Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy’s “The Tribe” won the Critics’ Week sidebar, whilst Kornel Mundruczo’s “White God” took the Un Certain Regard prize.

Jane Campion led this year’s jury which included the likes of Willem Dafoe, Gael Garcia Bernal, Sofia Coppola, Nicolas Winding Refn, Carole Bouquet, Jia Zhangke, Jeon Do-yeon and Leila Hatami.

Source: Screen