TV News: Futurama, Miracle, ABC, Boardwalk

While stiff competition impacted the ratings, the double episode season premiere drew solid numbers for Comedy Central with 2.5 million viewers tuning in for the animated comedy, while reviews were strong.

Torchwood: Miracle Day
In a move bound to cause controversy, the BBC have confirmed that the UK transmission of “Torchwood: Miracle Day” will commence Thursday 14th July on BBC One – almost a full week after it begins on Starz in the U.S. on July 8th.

With Starz footing much of the budget for this season, it’s not unexpected. But with the show airing States-side on the 8th and a few hours later in Australia on the 9th, many are wondering how many UK viewers will turn to torrenting to get their fix from the “Doctor Who” spin-off.

ABC announced the following fall premiere dates for the 2011-2012 season today:

Friday, September 16 – “20/20”

Monday, September 19 – “Dancing with the Stars”, “Castle”

Tuesday, September 20 – “Dancing with the Stars the Results Show”, “Body of Proof”

Wednesday, September 21 – “The Middle”, “Modern Family”, “Revenge”

Thursday, September 22 – “Charlie’s Angels”, “Grey’s Anatomy”

Sunday, September 25 -“Extreme Makeover: H.E.”, “Desperate Housewives”,”Pan Am”

Wednesday, September 28 – “Suburgatory”, “Happy Endings”

Thursday, September 29 – “Private Practice”

Sunday, October 2 – “America’s Funniest Home Videos”

Tuesday, October 11 -“Last Man Standing”

Tuesday, October 18 – “Man Up!”

Sunday, October 23rd – “Once Upon a Time”