The SAG Award Winners Announced

The winners of the Screen Actors Guild Awards were announced last night with front runners Forest Whitaker and Helen Mirren once again taking top honors for their work in “The Last King of Scotland” and “The Queen” respectively.

Also, much like the Golden Globes the other week, both Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy won for their supporting work in “Dreamgirls”.

It was a familiar night as the SAG awards almost directly copied the winners from the Globes in their announcements – not just in film but on television as well.

Helen Mirren & Jeremy Irons took acting nods for the “Elizabeth I” mini-series, America Ferrera & Alec Baldwin won for best actors in a comedy series, and Hugh Laurie landed best dramatic series actor. “Grey’s Anatomy” scored best drama series.

There were one or two differences however from the Globes results. “Grey’s Anatomy” star Chandra Wilson beat out Kyra Sedgwick for best actress in a drama series, whilst “The Office” took best comedy over “Ugly Betty”.

The big news though was the best ensemble film cast film award going to the cast of hit indie comedy “Little Miss Sunshine”, beating out the likes of “Babel”, “Dreamgirls” and “The Departed”.

The same award was won last year by the cast of “Crash”, a big surprise as at the time “Brokeback Mountain” had won basically everything else. With no clear front runner this year, the win gives a big boost to Sunshine’s chances at the Oscars.