“The Post” Wins The Prestigious NBR Awards

The National Board of Review announced its 2017 winners with Steven Spielberg’s only recently screened “The Post” nabbing three awards including Best Picture and the two top acting honors, “Lady Bird” scoring two wins including director and supporting actress, and honors for “Get Out,” “Call Me By Your Name,” “Phantom Thread,” “The Florida Project,” “Coco,” “The Disaster Artist” and “Wonder Woman”.

Notable snubs included “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” “Mudbound,” “The Big Sick,” “Darkest Hour” and “The Shape of Water” which not only failed to nab awards but failed to make the organisation’s coveted ‘Ten Best Films’ lists in four different categories (studio, indie, foreign, documentary) while more populist fare like “Logan,” “Baby Driver” and “Logan Lucky” all made one of the lists.

With ‘Shape’ also getting snubbed at the Spirit Awards nominations last week, the Guillermo del Toro film’s awards chances seem to be dwindling. “The Post” meanwhile has proven to be a last minute major player following rave reviews to the first press screenings the other day. Here is a complete list of this year’s winners.

Top Ten Films: “Baby Driver,” “Call Me By Your Name,” “The Disaster Artist,” “Downsizing,” “Dunkirk,” “The Florida Project,” “Get Out,” “Lady Bird,” “Logan,” “Phantom Thread”

Top Ten Independent Films: “Beatriz at Dinner,” “Brigsby Bear,” “A Ghost Story,” “Lady Macbeth,” “Logan Lucky,” “Loving Vincent,” “Menashe,” “Norman: The Moderate Rise and Tragic Fall of a New York Fixer,” “Patti Cake$,” “Wind River”

Top Five Foreign Language Films: “A Fantastic Woman,” “Frantz,” “Loveless,” “Summer 1993,” “The Square”

Top Five Documentaries: “Bacus: Small Enough To Jail,” “Brimstone & Glory,””Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars,” “Faces Places,” “Hell on Earth: The Fall of Syria and the Rise of Isis”

Best Picture: “The Post”
Best Director: Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”)
Best Actress: Meryl Streep (“The Post”)
Best Actor: Tom Hanks (“The Post”)
Best Original Screenplay: “Phantom Thread” by Paul Thomas Anderson
Best Adapted Screenplay: “The Disaster Artist” by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Webber
Best Documentary: “Jane”
Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe (“The Florida Project”)
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf (“Lady Bird”)
Breakthrough Performance: Timothee Chalamet (“Call Me By Your Name”)
Best Ensemble: “Get Out”
Best Animated Feature: “Coco”
Best Foreign Language Film: “Foxtrot”
Spotlight Award: Patty Jenkins and Gal Gadot for “Wonder Woman”
Freedom of Expression Award: John Ridley’s “Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992” and Angelina Jolie’s “First They Killed My Father”