The 2017 Cannes Film Festival Line-Up

The Cannes Film Festival has announced its line-up for 2017, with Nicole Kidman seemingly a hot property this year as she has no less than four projects to push on the Croisette. Hollywood titles were shut out completely, while eyebrows have been raised over the inclusion of two Netflix films which won’t see a theatrical release in Europe.

Several high profile films made it into competition including Noah Baumbach’s “The Meyerowitz Stories,” Sofia Coppola’s “The Beguiled,” Michael Haneke’s “Happy End,” Todd Haynes’ “Wonderstruck,” Michel Hazanavicius’s “Redoubtable,” Bong Joon-ho’s “Okja,” Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Killing Of A Sacred Deer,” Lynne Ramsey’s “You Were Never Really Here” and Ben & Josh Safdie’s “Good Time”.

Other notable films screening out of the main competition include Mathieu Amalric’s “Barbara,” Arnaud Desplechin’s “Ismael’s Ghosts,” Abbas Kiarostami’s “24 Frames,” Takashi Miike’s “Blade of the Immortal,” John Cameron Mitchell’s Neil Gaiman adaptation “How To Talk To Girls At Parties,” Taylor Sheridan’s “Wind River,” the doco “An Inconvenient Sequel,” Kristen Stewart’s short film directorial debut “Come Swim,” acting legend Vanessa Redgrave’s directing debut “Sea Sorrow” and Alejandro G Inarritu’s VR project “Carne Y Arena (Virtually Present, Physically Invisible)”.

Two TV events also made the list – the premiere of David Lynch’s “Twin Peaks” revival and Jane Campion’s mini-series “Top Of The Lake: China Girl”. More titles are set to be added over the next few weeks, here’s the full line-up set today. The 70th Cannes Film Festival runs May 17-28th.


“120 Battements Par Minute” (dir: Robin Campillo)
“A Gentle Creature” (dir: Sergei Loznitsa)
“Good Time” (dirs: Benny and Josh Safdie)
“Happy End” (dir: Michael Haneke)
“Hikari (Radiance)” (dir: Naomi Kawase)
“In the Fade” (dir: Fatih Akin)
“Jupiter’s Moon” (dir: Kornel Mundruczo)
“L’Amant Double” (dir: Francois Ozon)
“Loveless” (dir: Andrey Zvyagintsev)
“Okja” (dir: Bong Joon-ho)
“Redoubtable” (dir: Michel Hazanavicius)
“Rodin” (dir: Jacques Doillon)
“The Beguiled” (dir: Sofia Coppola)
“The Day After” (dir: Hang Sangsoo)
“The Killing Of A Sacred Deer” (dir: Yorgos Lanthimos)
“The Meyerowitz Stories” (dir: Noah Baumbach)
“Wonderstruck” (dir: Todd Haynes)
“You Were Never Really Here” (dir: Lynne Ramsay)


“How To Talk To Girls At Parties” (dir: John Cameron Mitchell)
“Ismael’s Ghosts” (dir: Arnaud Desplechin) – Opening Night
“Blade Of The Immortal” (dir: Takashi Miike)
“Visages, Villages” (dir: Agnes Varda & JR)


“Aala Kaf Ifrit (Beauty And The Dogs)” (dir: Kaouther Ben Hania)
“Apres La Guerre (After The War)” (dir: Annarita Zambrano)
“Barbara” (dir: Mathieu Amalric (Opening Film))
“En Attendant Les Hirondelles (The Nature of Time)” (dir: Karim Moussaoui)
“Fortunata (Lucky)” (dir: Sergio Castellitto)
“Jeune Femme” (dir: Leonor Serraille)
“L’Atélier” (dir: Laurent Cantet)
“La Novia Del Desierto (The Desert Bride)” (dirs: Cecilia Atan & Valeria Pivato)
“Las Hijas De Abril (April’s Daughter)” (dir: Michel Franco)
“Lerd (Dregs)” (dir: Mohammad Rasoulof)
“Out” (dir: Gyorgy Kristof)
“Posoki (Directions)” (dir: Stephan Komandarev)
“Sanpo Suru Shinryakusha (Before We Vanish)” (dir: Kiyoshi Kurosawa)
“Tesnota (Closeness)” (dir: Kantemir Balagov)
“Western” (dir: Valeska Grisebach)
“Wind River” (dir: Taylor Sheridan)


“24 Frames” (dir: Abbas Kiarostami)
“Come Swim” (dir: Kristen Stewart)
“Top of the Lake: China Girl” (dirs: Jane Campion & Ariel Kleiman)
“Twin Peaks” (dir: David Lynch)


“12 Jours” (dir: Raymond Depardon)
“An Inconvenient Sequel” (dirs: Ronni Cohen & Jon Shenk)
“Demons In Paradise” (dir: Jude Ratman)
“Keul-Le-Eo-Ui-Ka-Me-La (Clair’s Camera)” (dir: Hong Sangsoo)
“Napalm” (dir: Claude Lanzmann)
“Promised Land” (dir: Eugene Jarecki)
“Sea Sorrow” (dir: Vanessa Redgrave)
“They” (dir: Anahita Ghazinizadeh)


“AK-Nyeo (The Villainess)” (dir: Jung Byung-gil)
“Bulhandang (The Merciless)” (dir: Byun Sung-hyun)
“Prayer Before Dawn” (dir: Jean-Stephane Sauvaire)


“Carne Y Arena (Virtually Present, Physically Invisible)” (dir: Alejandro G Inarritu)