The 2011 TIFF Winners Announced

The Toronto Film Festival came to a close this weekend with the various award winners announced.

The Cadillac People’s Choice Award went to Nadine Labaki’s “Where Do We Go Now?” which follows a group of women protecting their war-torn community. The runners up were “A Separation” and “Starbuck”.

The Cadillac People’s Choice Documentary Award went to Jon Shenk’s “The Island President” which covers Maldives leader Mohamed Nasheed. The runners up were “First Position” and “Pearl Jam Twenty”.

The Midnight Madness audience winner was Gareth Evans’ already buzzed about Indonesian action film “The Raid”. The runners up were home invasion thriller “You’re Next” and Bobcat Goldthwait’s “God Bless America”.

The Skyy Vodka Award for best Canadian first feature was won by Nathan Morlando’s “Edwin Boyd” starring Scott Speedman. Anne Émond’s “Nuit #1” also got a special citation. The City Of Toronto Award For Best Canadian Feature went to Philippe Falardeau’s “Monsieur Lazhar”