Tennant Talks Amazon’s “Good Omens” Tone

Fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s 1990 novel “Good Omens” are understandably both excited and nervous about the upcoming Amazon event series screen adaptation.

Both of the author’s works have been adapted for the small screen in recent years to mixed results, even with all the production value a show could ever want (eg. “American Gods”). One issue of course is the tone, and this week actor David Tennant says fans of “Good Omens” needn’t worry – it’s going to be quite faithful.

Speaking with The Herald Scotland, Tennant said writer and showrunner Gaiman has been working hard to stick to the tone and intention of the original work – partly due to Gaiman fulfilling a posthumous request from Pratchett that he write all six episodes:

“It’s quite hard tonally to get a grip on what Good Omens is, because it’s this very unique world that comes from Terry and Neil’s novel – and from the scripts, which Neil has adapted pretty faithfully from that novel. I think it’s quite unlike anything I’ve ever been in before and possibly anything many people have seen before. It’s like a sort of fairy tale with a kind of very real world setting. It’s a farce and it’s also deeply serious. It’s all things at once and not quite any one of them.”

Gaiman recently revealed he’s writing “on-set texts for prophecies we only allude to in the book, so we can shoot them”. Michael Sheen plays Aziraphale and Tennant is Crowley in the adaptation while Jack Whitehall, Michael McKean, Miranda Richardson and Adria Arjona co-star. An early 2019 launch is planned.