Star Wars: Episode VII Crew Names Confirmed

Yesterday’s announcement that J.J. Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan would be taking over scripting duties on Disney “Star Wars: Episode VII” also included a little bonus down the bottom of the press release.

Namely it confirmed some of the key crew members who have been signed onto the project and are already at work on the pre-production phase ahead of the shoot at Pinewood Studios in the Spring.

Dan Mindel (“Mission: Impossible III,” “Star Trek,” “Star Trek Into Darkness”) is director of photography, while John Williams is returning to the series to score the soundtrack.

Rick Carter (“Lincoln,” “Avatar”) and Darren Gilford (“Oblivion,” “Tron: Legacy”) are the production designers, while Michael Kaplan (“Star Trek Into Darkness”) is the costume designer.

Chris Corbould (“Skyfall,” “The Dark Knight Rises”) is the special effects supervisor, and Roger Guyett (“Star Trek Into Darkness” and “Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith”) is visual effects supervisor at Industrial Light & Magic.

“Star Wars” franchise vet Ben Burtt returns as sound designer, with Gary Rydstrom (“Jurassic Park”) tapped as re-recording mixer and Skywalker Sound’s Matthew Wood (“Star Trek Into Darkness”) as supervising sound editor.

Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Bryan Burk are producing, with Tommy Harper and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers.

Source: Disney Pictures