“Star Trek” Cast & Crew Aren’t Trump Fans

Pretty much anyone who is anyone who worked on one of the “Star Trek” TV series have endorsed a letter on the Facebook group Trek Against Trump which asks people not to vote for Donald Trump in the upcoming U.S. Presidential Election.

“Star Trek” is famous for being arguably the most tolerance and diversity promoting franchise to exit, one that envisions a future Earth without sexism, racism, homophobia, religion or even money – mankind has evolved beyond poverty and despair to a time when the only challenge is true self-actualisation.

The post on the group, which is “not endorsed, sponsored, or affiliated with CBS Studios Inc., Paramount Pictures Corp or the ‘Star Trek’ franchise” also makes it clear that a vote for a third party is a vote for Trump:

“Never has there been a presidential candidate who stands in such complete opposition to the ideals of the Star Trek universe as Donald Trump. His election would take this country backward, perhaps disastrously.

We have heard people say they will vote Green or Libertarian or not at all because the two major candidates are equally flawed. That is both illogical and inaccurate. Either Secretary Clinton or Mr. Trump will occupy the White House.

One is an amateur with a contemptuous ignorance of national laws and international realities, while the other has devoted her life to public service, and has deep and valuable experience with the proven ability to work with Congress to pass desperately needed legislation. If, as some say, the government is broken, a protest vote will not fix it.”

Those who’ve given the thumbs up to this letter include Trek alum like J.J. Abrams, Rene Auberjonois, Scott Bakula, Ira Steven Behr, Rick Berman, John Billingsley, LeVar Burton, John Cho, Denise Crosby, Peter David, John de Lancie, Terry Farrell, Jonathan Frakes, Bryan Fuller, Bruce Greenwood, Walter Koenig, Justin Lin, Chase Masterson, Gates McFadden, Ron Moore, Kate Mulgrew, Simon Pegg, Robert Picardo, Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Andrew Robinson, Tim Russ, Zoe Saldana, Armin Shimerman, Brent Spiner, Marina Sirtis, George Takei, Connor Trinneer and Wil Wheaton. Notably missing are three of Trek’s Captains – William Shatner, Patrick Stewart and Avery Brooks.