Sony Moves Forward On “Wheel of Time” Series

Sony Pictures Television is moving forward on the long-gestating TV series adaptation of Robert Jordan’s high fantasy novels “The Wheel of Time”.

There are fourteen novels in total, beginning with ‘The Eye of the Universe’ in 1990 and concluding with ‘A Memory of Light’ in 2007. They follow the quest to find the Dragon Reborn, who it is said will help unite forces to combat The Dark One.

Rafe Judkins is attached to write and executive produce the series. An adaptation of “The Wheel of Time” novels has been in development in one form or another going back as far as 2000, but the projects mostly never made it past that stage due to legal issues which were finally sorted out last year.

Source: Variety