“Shoplifters,” “BlacKkKlansman” Win At Cannes

Hirokazu Kore-eda’s “Shoplifters” has won the Palme d’Or at the 71st Cannes Film Festival. The film, dubbed a moving tale of a self-made family at the bottom of Japanese society with a secret that could tear them apart.

Spike Lee’s anti-racism true story satire “BlacKkKlansman” took the runner-up prize of the Grand Prix, and Lebanese director Nadine’s “Capernaum” nabbed the Jury Prize. The love was quite well spread with Lee Chang-dong’s “Burning” taking the FIPRESCI prize, Lukas Dhont’s “Girl” the Camera d’Or (best first film), Gaspar Noe’s “Climax” winning the Director’s Fortnight section, and Ali Abbasi’s Border” the Un Certain Regard award.

The awards come as Screen Daily published their annual Critics Scorecard list with “Burning” on top with an average score of 3.8/4. “Shoplifters,” “The Wild Pear Tree,” “Cold War” and “Ash is Purest White” also performed strongly.

Cate Blanchett also announced an unprecedented Special Palme d’Or to Jean-Luc Godard, whom she described as ‘a cinematic artist who is continually striving to define and re-define what cinema can be’. Pawel Pawlikowski meanwhile won the best director honor for “Cold War”. Here’s the full list of winners:


Palme d’Or: “Shoplifters,” Hirokazu Kore-eda
Grand Prix: “BlacKkKlansman,” Spike Lee
Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, “Cold War”
Actor: Marcello Fonte, “Dogman”
Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, “Ayka”
Jury Prize: Nadine Labaki, “Capernaum”
Screenplay – TIE: Alice Rohrwacher, “Happy as Lazzaro” AND Jafar Panahi, Nader Saeivar, “3 Faces”


Camera d’Or: “Girl,” Lukas Dhont
Short Films Palme d’Or: “All These Creatures,” Charles Williams
Short Films Special Mention: “On the Border,” Shujun Wei
Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Capernaum,” Nadine Labaki
Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: “BlacKkKlansman,” Spike Lee
Queer Palm: “Girl,” Lukas Dhont


Un Certain Regard Award: Ali Abbasi, “Border”
Best Director: Sergei Loznitsa, “Donbass”
Best Performance: Victor Polster, “Girl”
Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’Barek, “Sofia”
Special Jury Prize: João Salaviza & Renée Nader Messora, “The Dead and the Others”


Art Cinema Award: “Climax” (Gaspar Noé)
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “The Trouble With You” (Pierre Salvadori)
Europa Cinemas Label: “Lucia’s Grace (Gianni Zanasi)
Illy Short Film Award: “Skip Day” (Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas)


Grand Prize: “Diamantino” (Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt)
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Woman at War” (Benedikt Erlingsson)
GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: “Sir”
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Felix Maritaud, “Sauvage.”
Short Film: “Hector Malot – The Last Day Of The Year” (Jacqueline Lentzou)


Competition: “Burning,” (Lee Chang-dong)
Un Certain Regard: “Girl,” (Lukas Dhont)
Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “One Day” (Zsófa Szilagyi)


First Prize: “The Summer of the Electric Lion,” Diego Céspedes
Second Prize – TIE: “Calendar,” Igor Poplauhin AND “The Storms in Our Blood,” Shen Di
Third Prize: “Inanimate,” Lucia Bulgheroni

Source: Variety