Seven Seasons Of “Witcher” Mapped Out

Seven Seasons Of The Witcher Mapped Out

Ahead of the first season’s arrival on Netflix next month, those involved in the lavish fantasy series “The Witcher” have been talking up the eight-episode first season adaptation of Andrzej Sapkowski’s novel series.

In total eight novels were penned by the author which gives showrunner Lauren Hissrich a lot of source material to mine for storylines. Speaking to SFX Magazine (via PC GamesN) Hissrich explained that her plans for “The Witcher” have already been mapped out well beyond the first season:

“I’ve [mapped out stories] for seven seasons. Right now it’s just about, ‘how do you set up stories that really capture audiences for years at a time?’… The worst thing we could do is put all of our energies just into season one, and not be thinking about where these characters can grow to.”

Henry Cavill leads the series as Geralt of Rivia, a mysterious monster hunter that is joined by a powerful sorceress and a young princess who must travel the world and survive.

Netflix has generally cancelled shows that aren’t big hits fairly fast with only a handful of series going beyond three seasons. The show will have to be a solid hit in order to survive.

The first season of “The Witcher” is expected to arrive on Netflix on December 20th.