Revenant, “Ex Machina” Top The DGA Awards

“The Revenant” director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu has won the top honor at the Directors Guild of America awards.

This marks the second year in a row Inarritu won the DGA trophy following last year’s “Birdman”. Inarritu beat out Tom McCarthy (“Spotlight”), George Miller (“Mad Max: Fury Road”), Adam McKay (“The Big Short”) and Ridley Scott (“The Martian”) for the honor.

Another big winner was Alex Garland who took home the First-Time Feature Film Director honor for “Ex Machina” ahead of Joel Edgerton (“The Gift”), Laszlo Nemes (“Son of Saul”), Fernando Coimbra (“A Wolf at the Door”) and Marielle Heller (“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”). Matthew Heineman won the documentary award for “Cartel Land”.

On the TV side, David Nutter won the Directors Guild drama series award for the “Game of Thrones” episode “Mother’s Mercy,” Chris Addison won the comedy series award for the “Veep” episode “Election Night”. Dee Rees won the Directors Guild TV movie-miniseries award for “Bessie,” and Kenny Ortega won the children’s award for “Descendants”.

Source: DGA