Production Begins On “His Dark Materials” Series

Production Begins On His Dark Materials Series

BBC and Bad Wolf have officially announced the beginning of production in Wales on the planned eight-part series adaptation of Philip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials”. The full cast list has also been announced.

Dafne Keen (“Logan”) will be playing the main character Lyra with Lin Manuel-Miranda (“Hamilton”) as Lee Scoresby, James McAvoy (“Split”) as Lyra’s uncle Lord Asriel, and Clarke Peters (“The Wire”) playing The Master who trains Lyra.

Ian Gelder (“Queers”) who will be portraying Librarian Scholar Charles, Ruth Wilson (“Luther”) as the glamorous Mrs. Coulter, Will Keen (“Wolf Hall”) as Father MacPhail, Ariyon Bakare (“Life”) as Lord Boreal, and Georgina Campbell (“Black Mirror”) as journalist Adele Starminster.

New additions include Anne-Marie Duff (“Suffragette”) as Ma Costa, James Cosmo (“Game of Thrones”) as Farder Coram, Lucien Msamati (“Richard II”) as John Faa, Mat Fraser (“Cast Offs”) as Raymond Van Geritt, with Geoff Bell (“War Horse”) as Jack Verhoeven, and Simon Manyonda (“King Lear”) as Benjamin de Ruyter.

Young actors include Lewin Lloyd as Roger Parslow, Daniel Frogson as Tony Costa, Tyler Howitt as Billy Costa and Archie Barnes as Pantalaimon. Tom Hooper (“The King’s Speech,” “Les Miserables”) will direct the series which Jack Thorne (“National Treasure”) has penned. It will be produced by Jane Tranter and Julie Gardner.

Source: BBC One