Pine, Abrams, Cuaron Announce Oscar Noms

The 87th annual Academy Award nominations will be unveiled next Thursday morning. Today, Oscar producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron have announced that, for the first time, all twenty-four categories will be announced live.

In previous years, only around half of the film categories are announced during the broadcast. The rest are revealed in a press release or on the website shortly after. This year, the broadcast will announce all the nominees in a special two-part announcement.

“Star Trek” director J.J. Abrams and “Gravity” helmer Alfonso Cuaron will announce the first batch at 5:30am US-PT. These include: Animated Feature Film, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Film Editing, Original Song, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Visual Effects.

Then, at 5:38am US-PT, Chris Pine and Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs will reveal the rest of the nominees: Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Cinematography, Costume Design, Directing, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay and Best Picture.

Source: AMPAS