Hardy, Kormakur, Reeves Set New Films

Several rising filmmakers have locked down new projects today.

Filmmaker Corin Hardy (“The Hallow”) is stepping in to replace F. Javier Gutierrez at the helm of “The Crow” reboot in development at Relativity Studios. Gutierrez left the project to work on the next entry in “The Ring” series.

Luke Evans is still attached to play the lead in the film take on the James O’Barr graphic novel about a murdered man who comes back for revenge. Filming is slated to begin in the Spring.

“2 Guns” and “Contraband” filmmaker Baltasar Kormakur is in negotiations to direct the disaster thriller “Cascade” at Twentieth Century Fox. Cate Blanchett is reportedly circling a role in the project and the likes of Ridley Scott, Steve Zaillian, Garrett Basch and Michael Schaefer are producing.

The story is set after an oil tanker collision in the Persian Gulf sets off an international crisis. Blanchett would play the tanker’s captain who must find a way to prove that she did not commit a terrorist act. Kieran Fitzgerald wrote the screenplay.

Finally, “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” helmer Matt Reves has signed on to direct an untitled bank heist thriller at 20th Century Fox. The script is based on a pitch by Matt Charman. The storyline is being kept under wraps, but it is described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Dog Day Afternoon”.

Source: Deadline and THR