FX Orders Ryan Murphy’s “Pose” To Series

FX has given a series order to Ryan Murphy’s new dance musical series “Pose” starring Evan Peters, Kate Mara, and James Van Der Beek.

The series feature the largest transgender series regular cast, as well as the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series. The five transgender actors – MJ Rodriguez, Indya Moore, Dominique Jackson, Hailie Sahar, and Angelica Ross – will all be playing transgender characters and the first season will reportedly feature 50-plus LGBTQ characters – a record in American television history.

Set in the 1980s, Pose looks at the juxtaposition of several segments of life and society in New York: the rise of the luxury Trump-era universe, the downtown social and literary scene and the ball culture world. Peters and Mara star as New Jersey couple Stan and Patty, who get sucked into the glamour and intrigue. Van Der Beek plays Stan’s financial kingpin boss.

Tony Award winner Billy Porter as well as newcomers Ryan Jamall Swain and Dyllon Burnside also star. Eight episodes have been ordered for the first season which is scheduled to begin production in February in New York ahead of a Summer premiere.

Murphy, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson and Brad Falchuk will executive produce.

Source: Deadline