Another Year

December 29th 2010
  • Drama,
  • PG-13,
  • 129 min,
  • Sony Pictures Classics
  • Cast: Jim Broadbent, Lesley Manville, Ruth Sheen, Oliver Maltman, Peter Wight, David Bradley, Martin Savage, Karina Fernandez, Michele Austin, Phil Davis, Imelda Staunton, Stuart McQuarrie, Eileen Davies, Mary Jo Randle, Ben Roberts, David Hobbs, Badi Uzzaman, Meneka Das, Ralph Ineson, Edna Doré, Gary Powell, Lisa McDonald
  • Director: Mike Leigh
  • Writer: Mike Leigh
  • Producer: Georgina Lowe
  • Executive Producers: Gail Egan, Tessa Ross
  • Art Direction: Andrew Rothschild
  • Casting: Nina Gold
  • Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran
  • D.O.P.: Dick Pope
  • Editor: Jon Gregory
  • Makeup: Christine Blundell
  • Music: Gary Yershon
  • Production Design: Simon Beresford
  • Set Decoration: Sophia Chowdhury


A married couple who have managed to remain blissfully happy into their autumn years, are surrounded over the course of the four seasons of one average year by friends, colleagues, and family who all seem to suffer some degree of unhappiness.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Derby, UK
  • MPAA Warning: Some language
  • Production Budget: £10 million
  • Production Companies: Film4, Focus Features, Thin Man Films, UK Film Council
  • Production Schedule: 17 August 2009 - 18 September 2009

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


2010 Guide Analysis: "Coming off great success with 2008's "Happy-Go-Lucky", the steadfastly non-conformist British director has assembled some great acting veterans for this generally improvised relationship drama - most notably Broadbent and Davis who are each working with him for a fourth time. Very little is known about the £10 million project, not even the title, as Leigh generally keeps his films very private until their initial screening at one of the big film festivals in the Fall. It's wait and see for now."

Trailers & Clips

Critics Reviews

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 5 November 2010: UK
  • 11 November 2010: Netherlands
  • 25 November 2010: Greece
  • 22 December 2010: France
  • 26 January 2011: Slovenia
  • 27 January 2011: Australia, Germany