Jane Eyre

March 11th 2011
  • Drama/Romance,
  • PG-13,
  • 115 min,
  • Focus Features
  • Cast: Michael Fassbender, Mia Wasikowska, Jamie Bell, Judi Dench, Imogen Poots, Sally Hawkins, Tamzin Merchant, Craig Roberts, Freya Wilson, Sophie Ward, Jayne Wisener, Simon McBurney, Harry Lloyd, Holliday Grainger, Valentina Cervi, Sandy McDade, Rosie Cavaliero, Amelia Clarkson, Freya Parks, Romy Settbon Moore, Su Elliot, Emily Haigh, Ben Roberts, Joseph Kloska, Edwina Elek, Sally Reeve, Georgia Bourke
  • Director: Cary Fukunaga
  • Writers: Moira Buffini, Charlotte Brontë
  • Producers: Alison Owen, Paul Trijbits
  • Co Producer: Mairi Bett
  • Executive Producer: Christine Langan
  • Art Direction: Karl Probert
  • Casting: Nina Gold
  • Costume Design: Michael O'Connor
  • D.O.P.: Adriano Goldman
  • Editor: Melanie Oliver
  • Makeup: Daniel Phillips
  • Music: Dario Marianelli
  • Production Design: Will Hughes-Jones
  • Set Decoration: Tina Jones


Based on Charlotte Brontë's classic novel. In the story, Jane Eyre flees Thornfield House, where she works as a governess for wealthy Edward Rochester. As she reflects upon the people and emotions that have defined her, it is clear that the isolated and imposing residence and Mr. Rochester's coldness have sorely tested the young womans resilience, forged years earlier when she was orphaned. She must now act decisively to secure her own future and come to terms with the past that haunts her and the terrible secret that Mr. Rochester is hiding and that she has uncovered.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Derbyshire, UK
  • MPAA Warning: Some thematic elements including a nude image and brief violent content
  • Production Companies: BBC Films, Focus Features, Ruby Films
  • Production Schedule: March 22 2010 - May 2010

Featured Articles


2011 Guide Analysis: "Putting the emphasis on the gothicism rather than the romanticism of Charlotte Bronte's literary classic, acclaimed "Sin Nombre" helmer Cary Fukunaga delivers this energetic looking adaptation, the sixteenth such film version of the work not including those heavily inspired by it such as Alfred Hitchcock's Best Picture Oscar winner "Rebecca".

Part of the reason for emphasising the darker aspects of the story is that previous adaptations generally shied away from it. Fukunaga says "I’m a stickler for raw authenticity...that sort of spookiness that plagues the entire story... there’s been something like 24 adaptations, and it’s very rare that you see those sorts of darker sides. They treat it like it’s just a period romance, and I think it’s much more than that".

His approach was revealed in the film's trailer which is also one of the single best previews released last year. Reactions to that trailer seemed to be exactly what the filmmakers were hoping for - those who would have dismissed the project on title alone as some dull period tale were suddenly curious and even keen to check it out.

Moira Buffini's Brit List-making screenplay appears quite faithful to the original text, though the director's emphasis on the tension and atmosphere will hopefully imbue this with an energy and pace often missing from earlier versions. Part of this was shot at Haddon Hall, an estate used by at least two previous adaptations of the book including the most recent - the BBC's excellent 2006 mini-series take with the striking Ruth Wilson and a career-best performance from the under-appreciated Toby Stephens.

The casting here is impressive, from the adorable Sally Hawkins playing the bitchy Mrs. Reed to Jamie Bell as secondary love interest St. John Rivers. Most importantly though is the leads, rising stars Michael Fassbender and Mia Wasikowska make for an excellent pairing that's more in tune with the novel (other adaptations tend to cast Jane older to make the age gap less obvious). Easily one of the highlights of the otherwise quiet first few months of the year."

Trailers & Clips

Watch this films trailers

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 18 March 2011: Estonia
  • 21 April 2011: South Korea
  • 8 July 2011: Turkey
  • 11 August 2011: Australia
  • 7 September 2011: France
  • 8 September 2011: Germany
  • 9 September 2011: UK
  • 14 October 2011: Sweden