Battle: Los Angeles

March 11th 2011
  • ,
  • PG-13,
  • 116 min,
  • Sony Pictures
  • Cast: Aaron Eckhart, Ramon Rodriguez, Will Rothhaar, Cory Hardrict, Jim Parrack, Gino Anthony Pesi, Ne-Yo, James Hiroyuki Liao, Bridget Moynahan, Noel Fisher, Adetokumboh M'Cormack, Bryce Cass, Michael Peña, Michelle Rodriguez, Neil Brown Jr., Taylor Handley, Joey King, Lucas Till, Kenneth Brown Jr., Jadin Gould, Joe Chrest, E. Roger Mitchell, Rus Blackwell, Susie Abromeit, Brandi Coleman, Elizabeth Keener, Jessica Heap, David Jensen, Todd Cochran, Nzinga Blake, Taryn Southern, James D. Dever, Claudia Wells, Casey Adams, Michelle Pierce, Nick Jones Jr., Keith Middlebrook
  • Director: Jonathan Liebesman
  • Writer: Christopher Bertolini
  • Producers: Jeffrey Chernov, Ori Marmur, Neal H. Moritz
  • Associate Producer: Lisa Rodgers
  • Executive Producer: David Greenblatt
  • Art Direction: Thomas Valentine
  • Casting: Debra Zane
  • Costume Design: Sanja Milkovic Hays
  • D.O.P.: Lukas Ettlin
  • Editor: Christian Wagner
  • Makeup: Joel Harlow
  • Music: Brian Tyler
  • Production Design: Peter Wenham
  • Set Decoration: Bob Kensinger


The story revolves around a Marine staff sergeant (Eckhart) and his new platoon's battle against an alien invasion on the streets of Los Angeles. The movie is presented as an intense real-time war movie from the perspective of the Marines. It has been described by some as "Black Hawk Down meets Independence Day". It will be a live-action drama, showcasing the United States Marines attempting to defeat an alien invasion of planet Earth.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Los Angeles, USA; Louisiana, USA
  • MPAA Warning: Sustained and intense sequences of war violence and destruction, and for language
  • Production Budget: $100 million
  • Production Companies: Columbia Pictures, Relativity Media, Original Film
  • Production Schedule: September 2009 - 11 December 2009

Featured Articles


2011 Guide Analysis: Also known as "World Invasion: Battle Los Angeles" outside the U.S. to try and get us pesky foreigners onboard for the ride - thank you condescending focus group pricks. Presently the $100 million Sony-backed 'Battle' is famous more for its legal dispute over the $20 million indie "Skyline" than on its own. For those not up on the case, the visual effects company Hydraulx, which did the visuals for 'Battle', also produced "Skyline" on its own dime before Universal picked it up.

Both are films about aliens invading Los Angeles, both feature lots of handicam visuals to try and convey 'gritty realism', and "Skyline" locked in a release date several months before 'Battle'. Sony was understandably upset by this, and probably grew more concerned when the reviews for "Skyline" utterly savaged it while the worldwide gross thus far isn't a particularly crow-worthy $47 million.

Since then the mood has changed. The first few trailers for 'Battle' came out and are impressive, with a decidedly different visual style and some rather intriguing looking mechanical aliens. There's a slightly better director, Jonathan Liebsman, and certainly a better writer in the form of Christopher Bertolini ("The General's Daughter") with some uncredited work by Shane Black.

Yet the use of shaky cam, a trend that thankfully seems to be dying, is already annoying in the previews alone. Attempts by marketing to link it to a real life 'post war nerves' incident that actually took place in L.A. is utterly laughable, even the setting itself seems decidedly cliche - so much so that you could dedicate a whole genre to films that destroy Los Angeles via some disaster. I like the cast and the choice to release a big old action epic at that time of year, but Sony is going to have to improve upon what's there if it hopes of selling the film not just outside North America but inside it as well.

Trailers & Clips

Watch this films trailers

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 11 March 2011: Canada, Iceland, India, UK
  • 17 March 2011: Hungary, Portugal, Singapore
  • 24 March 2011: Australia, Slovenia
  • 30 March 2011: Belgium
  • 31 March 2011: Denmark
  • 1 April 2011: Japan, Spain
  • 6 April 2011: France
  • 14 April 2011: Germany
  • 20 April 2011: Sweden
  • 21 April 2011: Netherlands
  • 28 April 2011: Argentina
  • 29 April 2011: Finland, Norway