The Good, The Bad and the Weird

April 23rd 2010
  • Action/Comedy,
  • Unrated,
  • 128 min,
  • IFC Releasing
  • Cast: Kang-ho Song, Byung-hun Lee, Woo-sung Jung, Kyeong-hun Jo, Kwang-il Kim, Cheong-a Lee, Dong-seok Ma, Dal-su Oh, Seo-won Oh, Seung-su Ryu, Byung-ho Son, Young-chang Song, Ji-won Uhm, Je-mun Yun
  • Director: Ji-Woon Kim
  • Writers: Ji-Woon Kim, Min-suk Kim
  • Producer: Jae-Won Choi
  • Executive Producer: Miky Lee
  • Costume Designs: Choi Eui-Yeong, Yu-Jin Gweon
  • D.O.P.s: Mo-gae Lee, Seung-Chul Oh
  • Editor: Nam Na-Young
  • Musics: Dalparan, Yeong-gyu Jang
  • Production Design: Hwa-sung Cho


With the Korean Peninsula under Japanese rule in 1930s, many Koreans flock to Manchuria for refuge. Some become bandits, some train robbers and yet others bounty hunters. While the Weird, a notorious train robber, is stealing from a Japanese train crossing the Manchurian plains, he discovers a treasure map. But the map is also sought after by the Bad, a merciless gang leader.

Coincidentally, the Good, a bounty hunter, is on the train, and he is after the Bad. The three engage in a spectacular chase with the Japanese Army, the Korean independence fighters, and the Chinese bandits all looking to get their hands on the prized map.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Production Companies: Barunson, CJ Entertainment, Cineclick Asia, Grimm Pictures

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Most expensive movie in South Korean cinema history as per 2009.

Actor Woo-sung Jung ("The Good") broke his arm during filming.

Two versions of the film were released in cinemas: one being for the native Korean market and the other for international sales. The Korean ending is more "up-beat" than the international version

In the UK, three scenes of horses being deliberately and dangerously tripped to simulate falls were excised.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 17 July 2008: South Korea
  • 29 August 2008: Vietnam
  • 13 November 2008: Singapore
  • 21 November 2008: Taiwan
  • 17 December 2008: France
  • 6 February 2009: UK
  • 14 April 2009: Brazil
  • 11 June 2009: Greece
  • 30 July 2009: Germany
  • 7 August 2009: Romania
  • 29 August 2009: Japan
  • 9 October 2009: Bulgaria, Poland
  • 9 February 2010: Netherlands