The Hurt Locker

June 26th 2009
  • Action/Drama,
  • R,
  • 131 min,
  • Summit Entertainment
  • Cast: Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Guy Pearce, Ralph Fiennes, David Morse, Evangeline Lilly, Christian Camargo, Suhail Aldabbach, Christopher Sayegh, Nabil Koni, Sam Spruell, Sam Redford, Feisal Sadoun, Barrie Rice, Imad Dadudi, Erin Gann, Justin Campbell, Malcolm Barrett, Kristoffer Ryan Winters, J.J. Kandel, Ryan Tramont, Michael Desante
  • Director: Kathryn Bigelow
  • Writer: Mark Boal
  • Producers: Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro
  • Co Producer: Donall McCusker
  • Executive Producer: Tony Mark
  • Art Direction: David Bryan
  • Casting: Mark Bennett
  • Costume Design: George L. Little
  • D.O.P.: Barry Ackroyd
  • Editors: Chris Innis, Bob Murawski
  • Makeup: Daniel Parker
  • Musics: Marco Beltrami, Buck Sanders
  • Production Design: Karl Júlíusson
  • Set Decoration: Amin Charif El Masri


An intense portrayal of elite soldiers who have one of the most dangerous jobs in the world: disarming bombs in the heat of combat. When a new sergeant, James, takes over a highly trained bomb disposal team amidst violent conflict, he surprises his two subordinates, Sanborn and Eldridge, by recklessly plunging them into a deadly game of urban combat. James behaves as if he's indifferent to death. As the men struggle to control their wild new leader, the city explodes into chaos, and James' true character reveals itself in a way that will change each man forever.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Filming Locations: Amman, Jordan; Kuwait; Langley, Canada
  • MPAA Warning: War violence and language
  • Production Budget: $11 million
  • Production Companies: First Light Production, Kingsgate Films
  • Production Schedule: 23 July 2007 - September 2007

Featured Articles


The production couldn't gain access to a U.S. military base in Kuwait, so the whole production was moved to Amman, Jordan.

During filming, three, four or more hand-held super 16mm cameras were used to film scenes in documentary style. Nearly two hundred hours of footage was shot at an eye-popping 100:1 shooting ratio (a higher ratio of expended film than the notorious Francis Ford Coppola epic, Apocalypse Now (1979)).

The production had a hard time booking key crew members and department heads, since the film was shot on location in the Middle East (specifically in Jordan, the country right next door to Iraq).

The Jordanian military provided security for the film. Military were stationed outside of production sets and outside of hotels where cast and crew were staying.

The first week of shooting (during the summer in Jordan) there was a heat wave. It was so hot that the cinematographer, Barry Ackroyd, took sick with heat stroke.

Actor Jeremy Renner tripped and fell down some stairs while carrying an Iraqi boy on the film's set. Shooting was stopped for several days while Renner's ankle healed.

A production bus full of Iraqi refugees (hired as extras) overturned on a road heading to production. Nobody was seriously injured. A few people suffered bruises and one person was reported to have a broken nose.

Several key American crew members were stopped and questioned and/or had their baggage rummaged through by American airport security prior to go to and/or coming back from Jordan. Even one of the producers was held for questioning upon returning to Los Angeles.

Part of the shooting took place during the Muslim month of "Ramadan". Non-Muslim crew members hid out and ate in tents and specialty hotels with windows covered by carpets (out of respect, and per the Jordanian law). Smoking, eating or drinking in public during daylight hours of fasting is banned in many Middle Eastern countries, including Jordan, and is punishable with jail time.

Colin Farrell, Willem Dafoe and Charlize Theron were originally set to star.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 10 October 2008: Italy
  • 2 June 2009: Indonesia
  • 3 July 2009: Norway
  • 8 July 2009: Iceland
  • 13 August 2009: Germany
  • 14 August 2009: Austria
  • 20 August 2009: Netherlands
  • 17 September 2009: Portugal
  • 23 September 2009: Belgium