Summer Hours

May 15th 2009
  • Drama/Family,
  • TBA,
  • 93 min,
  • IFC Releasing
  • Cast: Juliette Binoche, Charles Berling, Jérémie Renier, Edith Scob, Dominique Reymond, Valérie Bonneton, Isabelle Sadoyan, Kyle Eastwood, Alice de Lencquesaing, Emile Berling, Jean-Baptiste Malartre, Gilles Arbona, Eric Elmosnino, Marc Voinchet, Sara Martins, Christian Lucas, Philippe Paimblanc, Luc Bricault, Arnaud Azoulay, François-Marie Banier
  • Director: Olivier Assayas
  • Writer: Olivier Assayas
  • Producers: Charles Gillibert, Marin Karmitz, Nathanaël Karmitz
  • Executive Producer: Claire Dornoy
  • Casting: Antoinette Boulat
  • D.O.P.: Eric Gautier
  • Set Decoration: Sandrine Mauvezin


The divergent paths of three forty something siblings collide when their mother, heiress to her uncle‘s exceptional 19th century art collection, dies suddenly. Left to come to terms with themselves and their differences, Adrienne (Juliette Binoche) a successful New York designer, Frédéric (Charles Berling) an economist and university professor in Paris, and Jérémie (Jérémie Renier) a dynamic businessman in China, confront the end of childhood, their shared memories, background and unique vision of the future.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Production Budget: €4,400,000
  • Production Companies: MK2 Productions, Canal+, Région Ile-de-France
  • Production Schedule: June 4th 2007 - July 27th 2007

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


L'Heure d'été (Summer Hours) is the second in a series of films produced by Musee d'Orsay, after Le Voyage du Ballon Rouge.

The film was known under the working titles Souvenirs du Valois and Printemps Passé

The film received its United States premiere at the 46th New York Film Festival on October 1st, 2008 in New York.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Critics Reviews

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 5 March 2008: France
  • 26 June 2008: Netherlands
  • 18 July 2008: Taiwan
  • 18 July 2008: UK
  • 14 August 2008: Greece
  • 17 September 2008: Belgium
  • 31 October 2008: Sweden
  • 14 November 2008: Spain
  • 22 January 2009: Argentina
  • 12 March 2009: Portugal
  • 26 March 2009: South Korea
  • 2 April 2009: Australia
  • 10 July 2009: Denmark