January 23rd 2009
  • Family/Fantasy,
  • PG,
  • 106 min,
  • New Line Cinema
  • Cast: Brendan Fraser, Paul Bettany, Helen Mirren, Jim Broadbent, Andy Serkis, Eliza Hope Bennett, Sienna Guillory, Rafi Gavron, Jamie Foreman, Tereza Srbova, Marnix Van Den Broeke, Matt King, Lesley Sharp, Steve Speirs, Adam Bond, Antonio Gil
  • Director: Iain Softley
  • Writer: David Lindsay-Abaire
  • Producers: Diana Pokorny, Cornelia Funke, Ileen Maisel, Barry Mendel, Iain Softley
  • Executive Producers: Mark Ordesky, Toby Emmerich
  • Art Directions: Dimitri Capuani, Andrea Faini, Rod McLean, Stuart Rose
  • Castings: Daniel Hubbard, John Hubbard
  • Costume Design: Verity Hawkes
  • D.O.P.: Roger Pratt
  • Editor: Martin Walsh
  • Music: Javier Navarrete
  • Production Design: John Beard
  • Set Decoration: Niamh Coulter


Based on the book by Cornelia Funke, "Inkheart" is a timeless adventure tale of imagination that centers on Meggie, a young girl whose father has a secret ability to bring characters from books to life when he reads them aloud. But when a power-hungry villain from a rare children's fable kidnaps Meggie's father to bring others out of the boundaries of fiction, she and a disparate group of friends both real and magic embark on the kind of adventure she has only read about in books to save him and set things right.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Liguria, Italy; Piedmont, Italy; Surrey, UK
  • Production Budget: £30 million
  • Production Companies: Internationale Filmproduktion Blackbird Dritte, New Line Cinema

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Brendan Fraser was Cornelia Funke's personal choice for the role of Silvertongue. She even dedicated the second novel of the trilogy to him and sent him a signed copy. The producers originally wanted a bigger Hollywood star but on the insistence of Funke they gave in and accepted him in the role.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 11 December 2008: Germany
  • 12 December 2008: UK
  • 25 December 2008: Brazil
  • 26 December 2008: Iceland
  • 9 January 2009: Italy
  • 22 January 2009: Singapore
  • 23 January 2009: Taiwan, Turkey
  • 28 January 2009: France
  • 29 January 2009: South Korea
  • 30 January 2009: Mexico
  • 5 February 2009: Argentina
  • 12 March 2009: Czech Republic, Slovakia
  • 19 March 2009: Russia
  • 26 March 2009: Croatia
  • 2 April 2009: Australia
  • 3 April 2009: Finland