The Horsemen

March 6th 2009
  • Horror/Thriller,
  • R,
  • 110 min,
  • Lionsgate
  • Cast: Dennis Quaid, Ziyi Zhang, Lou Taylor Pucci, Clifton Collins Jr., Patrick Fugit, Eric Balfour, Peter Stormare, Chelcie Ross, Liam James, Onalee Ames, Douglas Bowman, David Dastmalchian, Barry Shabaka Henley, Jordon Hodges, Greg McAleer, Deborah Odell, Kevin Power
  • Director: Jonas Akerlund
  • Writer: Dave Callaham
  • Producers: Michael Bay, Andrew Form, Bradley Fuller
  • Co Producers: Nicole Brown, Kelli Konop, Michael Weber, Jeremiah Samuels
  • Executive Producers: Joseph Drake, Ted Field, Nathan Kahane, Joe Rosenberg, Vitaliy Versace
  • Art Direction: Peter Emmink
  • Castings: Lindsey Hayes Kroeger, David Rapaport
  • Costume Design: B.
  • D.O.P.: Eric Broms
  • Editor: Jim May
  • Music: Jan A.P. Kaczmarek
  • Production Design: Sandy Cochrane
  • Set Decorations: Stephen Arndt, Tanja Deshida


Aidan Breslin (Quaid) is a bitter detective emotionally distanced from his two young sons following the untimely death of his devoted wife. While investigating a series of murders of rare violence, he discovers a terrifying link between himself and the suspects in a chain of murders that seem to be based on the Biblical prophecies concerning the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse: War, Famine, Pestilence, and Death.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Chicago, USA; Winnipeg, Canada
  • MPAA Warning: Grisly and disturbing content, some sexual images and language
  • Production Budget: $20 million
  • Production Companies: Mandate Pictures, Platinum Dunes, Radar Pictures
  • Production Schedule: Filming Dates

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Neal McDonough was originally cast as Krupa and shot all of his scenes. After almost a year there were reshoots in Chicago which involved all McDonough's scenes; he was not available so Chelcie Ross replaced him.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 6 February 2009: Italy
  • 13 March 2009: UK
  • 1 April 2009: France
  • 17 April 2009: Taiwan