January 16th 2009
  • Drama,
  • R,
  • 122 min,
  • Fox Searchlight
  • Cast: Jamal Woolard, Derek Luke, Anthony Mackie, Angela Bassett, C. Malik Whitfield, Dennis L.A. White, Marc John Jefferies, Christopher Jordan Wallace, Ricky Smith, Amanda Christopher, Susie Da Silva, Jasper Briggs, Cyrus Farmer, David Costabile, Antonique Smith, Julia Pace Mitchell, Jermaine Denny, Naquon 'Nino Brown' Jackson, Duane Cooper, Naturi Naughton, Aunjanue Ellis, Valence Thomas, Edwin Freeman, Kevin Phillips, John Ventimiglia, Sean Ringgold
  • Director: George Tillman Jr.
  • Writers: Reggie Rock Bythewood, Cheo Hodari Coker
  • Producers: Wayne Barrow, Edward Bates, Trish Hofmann, Mark Pitts, Robert Teitel, Voletta Wallace
  • Co Producer: George Paaswell
  • Executive Producer: Sean 'P. Diddy' Combs
  • Art Direction: Laura Ballinger
  • Castings: Twinkie Byrd, Pamela Frazier, Chris Gray
  • D.O.P.: Michael Grady
  • Editor: Dirk Westervelt
  • Music: Danny Elfman
  • Production Design: Jane Musky
  • Set Decoration: Alexandra Mazur


The story of Christopher Wallace who, through raw talent and sheer determination, transforms himself from a Brooklyn street hustler to become the greatest rapper of all time, The Notorious B.I.G. This story charts his meteoric rise to fame and his refusal to succumb to expectation and redefines our notion of "The American Dream."

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: New York City, USA
  • MPAA Warning: Pervasive language, some strong sexuality including dialogue, nudity, and for drug content
  • Production Budget: $20 million
  • Production Companies: Bystorm Films, Voletta Wallace Films, Bad Boy Worldwide Entertainment Group, Fox Searchlight Pictures
  • Production Schedule: 24 March 2008 - July 2008

Featured Articles


Antoine Fuqua was originally set to direct[1] before director George Tillman, Jr. signed on to helm the project.

A soundtrack will be released on January 13, 2009, and will feature three unheard songs by Biggie from his demo tape, including a duet with his son CJ.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 13 February 2009: UK
  • 12 March 2009: Australia
  • 25 March 2009: Belgium
  • 26 March 2009: Germany
  • 16 April 2009: Netherlands
  • 30 April 2009: Singapore
  • 24 June 2009: France