Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

January 23rd 2009
  • Action/Horror,
  • R,
  • 88 min,
  • Screen Gems
  • Cast: Michael Sheen, Bill Nighy, Rhona Mitra, Shane Brolly, Kevin Grevioux, Steven MacKintosh, David Aston, Elizabeth Hawthorne, Larry Rew, Craig Parker, Jared Turner, Tim Raby, Tania Nolan, Brian Steele, Geraldine Brophy, Leighton Cardno, Alexander Carroll, Jason Hood, Mark Mitchinson
  • Director: Patrick Tatopoulos
  • Writers: Danny McBride, Dirk Blackman, Howard McCain
  • Producers: Len Wiseman, Tom Rosenberg, Gary Lucchesi, Richard Wright
  • Co Producers: David Kern, Kevin Grevioux
  • Executive Producers: Skip Williamson, Henry Winterstern, James McQuaide, Eric Reid, Beth Depatie
  • Art Directions: Brendan Heffernan, Gary Mackay
  • Casting: Victoria Beynon-Cole
  • Costume Design: Jane Holland
  • D.O.P.: Ross Emery
  • Editors: Peter Amundson, Eric Potter
  • Music: Paul Haslinger
  • Production Design: Dan Hennah
  • VFX Supervisor: James McQuaide


"Underworld: Rise of the Lycans" delves into the origins of the centuries-old blood feud between the aristocratic vampires, known as Death Dealers, and the barbaric Lycans (werewolves).

A young Lycan, Lucian (Michael Sheen), emerges as a powerful leader who rallies the werewolves to rise up against Viktor (Bill Nighy), the cruel vampire king who has persecuted them for hundreds of years.

Lucian is joined by his secret lover, the beautiful vampire Sonja (Rhona Mitra), in his battle to free the Lycans from their brutal enslavement.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Auckland, New Zealand
  • MPAA Warning: Bloody violence and some sexuality
  • Production Companies: Lakeshore International, Screen Gems, UW3 Film Productions
  • Production Schedule: 10 January 2008 - 19 March 2008

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Marks the directorial d├ębut of Patrick Tatopoulos, who designed the creature effects for all three Underworld films.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 21 January 2009: Egypt
  • 22 January 2009: Australia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Slovakia
  • 23 January 2009: Iceland, Poland, UK
  • 29 January 2009: Croatia, Slovenia
  • 5 February 2009: Argentina, Russia, Singapore
  • 6 February 2009: Brazil, Estonia
  • 19 February 2009: Germany
  • 20 February 2009: Italy
  • 25 February 2009: France
  • 13 March 2009: Sweden
  • 14 March 2009: Japan
  • 18 March 2009: Belgium
  • 26 March 2009: Netherlands