The Stepfather

October 16th 2009
  • Suspense/Thriller,
  • PG-13,
  • 101 min,
  • Screen Gems
  • Cast: Dylan Walsh, Sela Ward, Penn Badgley, Christopher Meloni, Jason Wiles, Sherry Stringfield, Jon Tenney, Paige Turco, Skyler Samuels, Braeden Lemasters, Sean Moran, Marcuis Harris, Tracey Costello, Pride Grinn, Kara Briola, Vitaliy Versace, Amber Heard
  • Director: Nelson McCormick
  • Writer: J.S. Cardone
  • Producers: Greg Mooradian, Mark Morgan
  • Co Producer: Jay Dykes
  • Executive Producers: J.S. Cardone, Guy Oseary, Meredith Zamsky
  • Art Direction: Tim Eckel
  • Castings: Lisa London, Catherine Stroud
  • Costume Design: Lyn Paolo
  • D.O.P.: Patrick Cady
  • Editor: Eric L. Beason
  • Makeup: Stephanie A. Fowler
  • Music: Charlie Clouser
  • Production Design: Steven J. Jordan
  • Set Decoration: Julieann Getman


Michael Harding (Penn Badgley) returns home from military school to find his mother (Sela Ward) happily in love and living with her new boyfriend, David (Dylan Walsh). As the two men get to know each other, Michael becomes more and more suspicious of the man who is always there with a helpful hand. Is he really the man of her dreams or could David be hiding a dark side?

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Filming Locations: Los Angeles, USA
  • MPAA Warning: Intense sequences of violence, disturbing images, mature thematic material and brief sensuality
  • Production Companies: Granada Entertainment, Maverick Films, Screen Gems, Sony Pictures Entertainment
  • Production Schedule: March 2008 - April 15th 2008

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Terry O'Quinn, who portrayed The Stepfather in the first two instalments of the series, was approached by director Nelson McCormick to appear in the remake, but according to producer Mark Morgan O'Quinn turned down the offer.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 19 November 2009: Croatia, Slovenia
  • 20 November 2009: Brazil, Iceland
  • 27 November 2009: Mexico, South Africa
  • 3 December 2009: Greece, New Zealand
  • 9 December 2009: Egypt, France
  • 10 December 2009: Argentina, Portugal
  • 11 December 2009: Estonia, Spain, UK
  • 16 December 2009: Belgium
  • 17 December 2009: Netherlands
  • 24 December 2009: Singapore
  • 31 December 2009: Germany
  • 28 January 2010: Australia
  • 29 January 2010: Denmark, Finland, Sweden
  • 16 April 2010: Italy