The Tooth Fairy

January 22nd 2010
  • Comedy/Family,
  • PG,
  • 101 min,
  • 20th Century Fox
  • Cast: Dwayne Johnson, Ashley Judd, Julie Andrews, Billy Crystal, Ryan Sheckler, Brandon T. Jackson, Stephen Merchant, Alex Ferris, Darien Provost, Chase Ellison, Juno Ruddell, Maya Washington, Josh Emerson, Brendan Penny, Jill Morrison, Brendan Beiser, Michael Daingerfield, Brendan Meyer, Destiny Whitlock, Dale Wolfe, Lee Tichon, Ben Geldreich
  • Director: Michael Lembeck
  • Writers: Lowell Ganz, Babaloo Mandel, Joshua Sternin, Jeffrey Ventimilia
  • Producers: Jason Blum, Mark Ciardi, Gordon Gray
  • Co Producer: Kevin Halloran
  • Executive Producer: Jim Piddock
  • Castings: Heike Brandstatter, Coreen Mayrs
  • Costume Design: Angus Strathie
  • D.O.P.: David Tattersall
  • Editor: David Finfer
  • Makeup: Rosalina Da Silva
  • Music: George S. Clinton
  • Production Design: Marcia Hinds
  • Set Decoration: Mary-Lou Storey


Dwayne Johnson is The Tooth Fairy, also known as Derek Thompson, a hard-charging hockey player whose nickname comes from his habit of separating opposing players from their bicuspids. When Derek discourages a youngster’s dreams, he’s sentenced to one week’s hard labor as a real tooth fairy, complete with the requisite tutu, wings and magic wand. At first, Derek “can’t handle the tooth” - bumbling and stumbling as he tries to furtively wing his way through strangers’ homes…doing what tooth fairies do. But as Derek slowly adapts to his new position, he begins to rediscover his own forgotten dreams.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Filming Locations: Vancouver, Canada
  • MPAA Warning: Mild language, some rude humor and sports action
  • Production Budget: $48 million
  • Production Companies: Blumhouse Productions, Foxvan Productions, Mayhem Pictures, Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation
  • Production Schedule: October 2008 - December 2008

Featured Articles

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 14 January 2010: Australia
  • 15 January 2010: Mexico, Venezuela
  • 21 January 2010: Malaysia, Singapore
  • 22 January 2010: Brazil, Spain
  • 28 January 2010: Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia
  • 4 February 2010: Argentina
  • 10 March 2010: France
  • 18 March 2010: Germany
  • 19 March 2010: Estonia, Poland
  • 7 April 2010: Belgium
  • 29 April 2010: Netherlands
  • 28 May 2010: UK