The Princess and the Frog

November 25th 2009
  • Animated/Musical,
  • G,
  • 97 min,
  • Walt Disney Pictures
  • Cast: Anika Noni Rose, Keith David, Jenifer Lewis, John Goodman, Bruno Campos, Oprah Winfrey, Jim Cummings, Jennifer Cody, Michael-Leon Wooley, Ritchie Montgomery, Peter Bartlett, Terrence Howard, Elizabeth M. Dampier, Breanna Brooks, Don Hall, Paul Briggs, Jerry Kernion, Corey Burton, Michael Colyar, Emeril Lagasse, Kevin Michael Richardson, Randy Newman, Danielle Moné Truitt
  • Directors: John Musker, Ron Clements
  • Writers: Ron Clements, Rob Edwards, Greg Erb, Don Hall, John Musker, Jason Oremland
  • Producer: Peter Del Vecho
  • Associate Producers: Paul D. Lanum, Craig Sost
  • Executive Producers: John Lasseter, Aghi D. Koh
  • Art Direction: Ian Gooding
  • Casting: Jen Rudin
  • Editor: Jeff Draheim
  • Music: Randy Newman
  • Production Design: James Aaron Finch


"The Princess and the Frog" marks Disney's return to the timeless art form of traditional animation.

When the free-spirited, jazz-loving Prince Naveen of Maldonia (Bruno Campos) comes to town, a deal with a shady voodoo doctor (Keith David) goes bad and the once suave royal is turned into a frog.

In a desperate attempt to be human again, a favor in exchange for a fateful kiss on the lips from the beautiful girl, Tiana (Anika Noni Rose), takes an unexpected turn and leads them both on a hilarious adventure through the mystical bayous of Louisiana to the banks of the almighty Mississippi and back in time for Mardi Gras in New Orleans.

An unforgettable tale filled with music, humor and heart where two frogs—along with the help of a 197-year-old voodoo priestess, a love-sick Cajun firefly, and a trumpet-playing alligator—discover that what they want isn’t as important as what they need

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • Production Budget: $105 million
  • Production Companies: Walt Disney Animation Studios, Walt Disney Pictures
  • Production Schedule: March 2007 -

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.


Originally titled "The Frog Princess," Disney changed several key elements to the film after receiving numerous complaints of racial insensitivity. Besides retitling the picture to avoid the implication that the African-American Disney princess was somehow ugly or animal, the lead character's name changed from Maddy to Tiana since,"Maddy" sounded too much like "Mammy." A subplot about her working as a maid was also dropped to avoid negative stereotypes.

The first Disney animated feature to include an African-American 'princess', the first hand-drawn Disney animated film since Home on the Range (2004), and the 49th animated feature in the Walt Disney Animated Classics series.

The artists on The Princess and the Frog will use traditional pencil and paper that is scanned into the computers. The visual effects on the other hand, as well as lot of the backgrounds, will be created digitally.

The former trend in Disney's hand-drawn features where the characters were influenced by a CGI-look (eg. "Treasure Planet") has been abandoned.

"Dreamgirls" stars Jennifer Hudson and Anika Noni Rose were both in competition for the titular princess role, as were Alicia Keyes and Tyra Banks, before Rose won out.

Prince Naveen is from a fictional country in the Mediterranean named Maldonia. The kingdom's name is a mix between Malta and Macedonia.

The alligator and the firefly of this movie, were named Louis and Ray in honor to Louis Armstrong and Ray Charles, two legends of jazz.

The film was originally set to be released on Christmas Day in 2009, but was changed due to the competitive nature of Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel being released the same day.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 10 December 2009: Germany, Singapore
  • 11 December 2009: Brazil, Mexico
  • 18 December 2009: Bulgaria, Italy
  • 23 December 2009: Egypt
  • 24 December 2009: Hungary
  • 26 December 2009: Iceland
  • 31 December 2009: South Korea
  • 1 January 2010: Australia, Russia
  • 7 January 2010: Argentina
  • 22 January 2010: Estonia, Turkey
  • 27 January 2010: France
  • 28 January 2010: Slovenia
  • 3 February 2010: Belgium, Netherlands
  • 4 February 2010: Portugal, Spain
  • 5 February 2010: Sweden, UK
  • 12 February 2010: Denmark, Romania
  • 18 February 2010: Hong Kong
  • 19 February 2010: Finland, Norway
  • 6 March 2010: Japan