The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

December 17th 2014
  • Adventure/Fantasy,
  • TBA,
  • Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Cast: Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Luke Evans, Evangeline Lilly, Orlando Bloom, Andy Serkis, Cate Blanchett, Hugo Weaving, Benedict Cumberbatch, Stephen Fry, Billy Connolly, Lee Pace, Aidan Turner, James Nesbitt, Sylvester McCoy, Dean O'Gorman, John Callen, Peter Hambleton, Graham McTavish, Ken Stott, Dominic Keating, William Kircher, Stephen Hunter, Mark Hadlow, Jed Brophy, Adam Brown, Mikael Persbrandt, Conan Stevens, Jeffrey Thomas, Michael Mizrahi, Manu Bennett, Christopher Lee, Ian Holm, Elijah Wood, Stephen Colbert
  • Director: Peter Jackson
  • Writers: Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Guillermo del Toro, Peter Jackson, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Producers: Carolynne Cunningham, Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh
  • Co Producer: Philippa Boyens
  • Executive Producers: Callum Greene, Ken Kamins, Zane Weiner
  • Art Direction: Andy McLaren
  • Castings: Amy Hubbard, John Hubbard, Liz Mullane, Miranda Rivers
  • Costume Designs: Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor
  • D.O.P.: Andrew Lesnie
  • Editor: Jabez Olssen
  • Makeup: Rick Findlater
  • Music: Howard Shore
  • Production Design: Dan Hennah
  • Set Decoration: Ra Vincent


Third and final film in "The Hobbit" trilogy. Smaug descends on Laketown, forcing the residents to either flee or attempt to fight back. As the dwarves take up residence in Erebor and refuse to budge, the Elves assemble an army to take on the forces of the Necromancer who has been amassing his forces in Dol Guldur.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: New Zealand
  • Production Budget: $225 million
  • Production Companies: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), New Line Cinema, 3Foot7, WingNut Films
  • Production Schedule: 21 March 2011 - 6 July 2012, May 2013 - July 2013

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.

Trailers & Clips

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 17 December 2014: Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Peru, Sweden
  • 19 December 2014: Romania, UK
  • 26 December 2014: Iceland