Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakuel

December 23rd 2009
  • Animated/Family,
  • PG,
  • 20th Century Fox
  • Cast: Drew Barrymore, Justin Long, Cameron Richardson, Jason Lee, Zachary Levi, Jesse McCartney, David Cross, Matthew Gray Gubler, Wendie Malick, Bridgit Mendler, Kevin G. Schmidt, Chris Warren Jr., Kathryn Joosten, Brando Eaton, Charice Pempengco, Anjelah N. Johnson, Aimee Carrero, Lauren Cornell, Alexandra Shipp
  • Director: Betty Thomas
  • Writers: Jonathan Aibel, Glenn Berger, Will McRobb, Chris Viscardi, Jon Vitti
  • Producers: Ross Bagdasarian Jr., Janice Karman
  • Executive Producers: Michele Imperato, Arnon Milchan, Karen Rosenfelt, Steve Waterman
  • Art Direction: Bo Johnson
  • Castings: Juel Bestrop, Seth Yanklewitz
  • Costume Design: Alexandra Welker
  • D.O.P.: Anthony B. Richmond
  • Editor: Matthew Friedman
  • Makeup: Cheri Minns
  • Production Design: Marcia Hinds
  • Set Decoration: Karen Agresti


Pop sensations Alvin, Simon and Theodore end up in the care of Dave Seville's twenty-something nephew Toby (Levi). The boys must put aside music superstardom to return to school, and are tasked with saving the school's music program by winning the $25,000 prize in a battle of the bands. But the Chipmunks unexpectedly meet their match in three singing chipmunks known as The Chipettes -– Brittany, Eleanor and Jeanette. Romantic and musical sparks are ignited when the Chipmunks and Chipettes square off.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
  • MPAA Warning: Mild rude humor
  • Production Companies: Bagdasarian Productions, Regency Enterprises

Featured Articles


It was originally scheduled to be premiered on March 19, 2010, but it was moved up to a Christmas 2009 release instead.

The movie will also feature performances by the winners of the third season of America's Best Dance Crew, Quest Crew.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 21 December 2009: UK
  • 23 December 2009: Belgium
  • 24 December 2009: Germany, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine
  • 25 December 2009: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Romania, Swed
  • 26 December 2009: Australia, Iceland, Norway
  • 8 January 2010: Brazil
  • 13 January 2010: Egypt
  • 14 January 2010: Argentina
  • 28 January 2010: Slovenia
  • 3 February 2010: France