The Sweeney

March 1st 2013
  • Drama/Thriller,
  • R,
  • 112 min,
  • Entertainment One
  • Cast: Ray Winstone, Ben Drew, Hayley Atwell, Steven Mackintosh, Paul Anderson, Alan Ford, Damian Lewis, Caroline Chikezie, Allen Leech, Ronnie Fox, Michael Wildman, Steven Waddington, Kevin Michaels, Kara Tointon, Tayo Walker-Allen, Allan Corduner, Nick Nevern, Ed Skrein, Dean Harrison, George Anton, Joan Blackham, Max Bennett, John Warnaby, Lee Whitlock
  • Director: Nick Love
  • Writers: Nick Love, John Hodge, Ian Kennedy Martin
  • Producers: Allan Niblo, Rupert Preston, James Richardson, Christopher Simon, Felix Vossen
  • Co Producer: Caroline Levy
  • Executive Producer: Andrew Macdonald
  • Art Direction: Gerard Bryan
  • Casting: Gary Davy
  • Costume Design: Andrew Cox
  • D.O.P.: Simon Dennis
  • Editor: James Herbert
  • Makeup: Lucy Cain
  • Music: Lorne Balfe
  • Production Design: Morgan Kennedy
  • Set Decoration: Kate Guyan


Tearing up the streets of London, "The Sweeney" is a stylish, exhilarating action thriller proving sometimes you have to act like a criminal to catch a criminal. Armed and dangerous, the Sweeney Flying Squad are old school crime fighters enforcing the law. Led by legendary detective Jack Regan (Ray Winstone) and his loyal partner, they have their own unique way of operating and always get results. With a bank heist in progress and his old enemy making a reappearance on the London crime scene, Regan will do whatever it takes to get the job done, even defying orders from his no-nonsense boss (Damian Lewis).

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: London, UK
  • MPAA Warning: Violence and language throughout and some sexual content
  • Production Budget: £2 million
  • Production Companies: Vertigo Films, Embargo Films
  • Production Schedule: April 2012 - May 2012

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.

Trailers & Clips

Watch this films trailers

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 12 September 2012: Ireland, UK
  • 25 October 2012: Kuwait
  • 13 January 2012: Japan
  • 14 February 2012: Australia
  • 27 February 2012: Sweden
  • 28 February 2012: Germany, New Zealand
  • 14 March 2013: Netherlands