Monsieur Lazhar

April 13th 2012
  • Drama,
  • PG-13,
  • 94 min,
  • Music Box Films
  • Cast: Mohamed Fellag, Sophie Nélisse, Émilien Néron, Danielle Proulx, Brigitte Poupart, Jules Philip, Daniel Gadouas, Louis Champagne, Seddik Benslimane, Marie-Ève Beauregard, André Robitaille, Francine Ruel, Sophie Sanscartier, Evelyne de la Chenelière, Vincent Millard, Louis-David Leblanc, Nicole-Sylvie Lagarde, Gabriel Verdier, Marie Charlebois, Marianne Soucy-Lord
  • Director: Philippe Falardeau
  • Writer: Philippe Falardeau
  • Producers: Luc Déry, Kim McCraw
  • Associate Producer: Claude Paiement
  • Castings: Emanuelle Beaugrand-Champagne, Nathalie Boutrie, Constance Demontoy
  • Costume Design: Francesca Chamberland
  • D.O.P.: Ronald Plante
  • Editor: Stéphane Lafleur
  • Makeup: Katryn Casault
  • Music: Martin Léon
  • Production Design: Emmanuel Fréchette
  • Set Decoration: Josée Arseneault


When an elementary school teacher commits suicide one night after class, the school's overworked principal has a hard time finding a replacement. Bachir Lazhar, a middle-aged Algerian immigrant seeking political refuge in Quebec, applies for the job, having had 19 years experience as a grade school teacher in his home country.

When Bachir is hired, he finds he has to deal with a 10-year-old pupil who has been traumatized because he was the one who discovered the teacher's body, and a girl whose interpretation of the event and resentment toward her friend provoke unforeseen revelations. He begins to care for his students, hoping to prepare them for the future, but runs into opposition from parents who want him to maintain a professional distance.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • MPAA Warning: Mature thematic material, a disturbing image and brief language
  • Production Companies: micro_scope

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.

Trailers & Clips

Watch this films trailers

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 7 March 2012: Belgium
  • 15 March 2012: Netherlands
  • 12 April 2012: Germany
  • 18 May 2012: Spain
  • 2 August 2012: Argentina
  • 5 September 2012: France