Once Upon a Time in Anatolia

January 4th 2012
  • Drama,
  • Unrated,
  • 157 min,
  • Cinema Guild
  • Cast: Muhammet Uzuner, Yilmaz Erdogan, Taner Birsel, Ahmet Mumtaz Taylan, Firat Tanis, Ercan Kesal, Erol Eraslan, Ugur Arslanoglu, Murat Kilic, Safak Karali, Emre Sen, Burhan Yildiz, Nihan Okutucu, Cansu Demirci, Kubilay Tuncer, Salih Unal, Aziz Izzet Bicici, Celal Aracapl, Mehmet Eren Topcak, Ufuk Karali, Fevzi Muftuoglu, Turgay Kurkcu, Fatih Ereli
  • Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
  • Writers: Ebru Ceylan, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Ercan Kesal
  • Producer: Zeynep Özbatur
  • Co Producers: Murat Akdilek, Eda Arikan, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Müge Kolat, Mirsad Purivatra, Ibrahim Sahin
  • Art Direction: Dilek Yapkuoz Ayaztuna
  • Castings: Nimet Atasoy, Selim Ünel
  • D.O.P.: Gökhan Tiryaki
  • Editors: Bora Gökşingöl, Nuri Bilge Ceylan
  • Music: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
  • Production Design: Çagri Erdogan


Winner of the Grand Prix at the Cannes Film Festival, "Once Upon a Time in Anatolia" is the new film from celebrated director Nuri Bilge Ceylan ("Climates," "Distant"). In the dead of night, a group of men - among them a police commissioner, a prosecutor, a doctor and a murder suspect – drive through the Anatolian countryside, the serpentine roads and rolling hills lit only by the headlights of their cars.

They are searching for a corpse, the victim of a brutal murder. The suspect, who claims he was drunk, can't remember where he buried the body.

As night wears on, details about the murder begin to emerge and the investigators' own hidden secrets come to light. In the Anatolian steppes, nothing is what it seems; and when the body is found, the real questions begin.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Kırıkkale Province, Turkey
  • Production Companies: Zeynofilm, Production 2006, 1000 Volt, Turkish Radio & Television, Imaj, Fida Film, NBC Film

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.

Trailers & Clips

This film has no associated trailers or clips.

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 23 September 2011: Turkey
  • 27 October 2011: Greece
  • 2 November 2011: France
  • 19 January 2012: Germany
  • 16 March 2012: UK