John Carpenter's The Ward

July 8th 2011
  • Horror/Thriller,
  • R,
  • 88 min,
  • Other
  • Cast: Amber Heard, Mamie Gummer, Danielle Panabaker, Laura-Leigh, Lyndsy Fonseca, Jared Harris, Sydney Sweeney, D.R. Anderson, Mika Boorem, Susanna Burney, Sean Cook, R.J. Hampton, Jillian Kramer, Milos Milicevic, Sali Sayler, Kent Kimball, Tracy Schornick, Patrick Treadway, Lonny W. Waddle
  • Director: John Carpenter
  • Writers: Michael Rasmussen, Shawn Rasmussen
  • Producers: Peter Block, Doug Mankoff, Mike Marcus, Andrew Spaulding
  • Executive Producers: Adam Betteridge, Rich Cowan, David Rogers
  • Casting: Pam Dixon Mickelson
  • Costume Design: Lisa Caryl
  • D.O.P.: Yaron Orbach
  • Editor: Patrick McMahon
  • Makeup: Trista Jordan
  • Music: Mark Kilian
  • Production Design: Paul Peters
  • Set Decoration: Rachel M. Thompson


John Carpenter's The Ward," a psychological thriller about a young woman locked in a mysterious mental institution in the 1960s, marks iconic horror master John Carpenter's first feature film in over ten years.

Kristen (Amber Heard), a beautiful but troubled young woman, finds herself bruised, cut, drugged, and held against her will in a remote ward of a psychiatric hospital. She is completely disoriented, with no idea why she was brought to this place and no memory of her life before being admitted. All she knows is that she isn't safe.

Basic Information

  • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
  • Filming Locations: Des Moines, USA; Spokane, USA
  • MPAA Warning: Violence and disturbing images
  • Production Budget: $10 million
  • Production Companies: FilmNation Entertainment, Premiere Picture, Echo Lake Productions, A Bigger Boat, Modern VideoFilm, North by Northwest Entertainment
  • Production Schedule: 2 August 2009 - September 2009

Featured Articles

  • This film has no related articles.

Trailers & Clips

Worldwide Release Dates

  • 21 January 2011: Ireland, UK
  • 10 March 2011: Malaysia
  • 1 April 2011: Italy
  • 26 May 2011: Australia
  • 2 June 2011: Greece
  • 3 June 2011: Turkey
  • 16 June 2011: Singapore
  • 23 June 2011: Bahrain
  • 30 June 2011: Argentina
  • 20 July 2011: Brazil
  • 17 September 2011: Japan
  • 29 September 2011: Germany