E3 2015: Electronic Arts’ Presentation

Following Microsoft, Electronic Arts gave its E3 presentation for this year which put a heavy focus on the long awaited reveals for next chapters in the “Mass Effect” and “Mirror’s Edge” franchises along with their usual annual sport entries and several “Star Wars” related titles. The company is also making good use out of the Frostbite 3 engine with the three biggest titles of the presentation making use of it. All of these games are expected to be available on PC, PS4 and Xbox One.

Star Wars: Battlefront
Two stunning bits of actual gameplay footage were shown from the highly anticipated “Star Wars” game with both clips showing off the PlayStation 4 version. The first is a clip from one of the larger scale multiplayer modes and showcases a battle on the icy world of Hoth. The second is from the single player/co-op missions which sees you in ‘Survival Mode’ on the surface of either Tatooine or Jakku. The game has been criticised for lack of a campaign, but those involved make it clear that the game can be played alone.

Mass Effect: Andromeda
The press conference began with the announcement trailer for this fourth title in the “Mass Effect” game series which is due out late 2016. Set in a whole other galaxy with a new set of characters, the clip also shows the new look Mako vehicle. The developers have revealed the combat system will be more akin to “Mass Effect 3” than the earlier games, and the focus will be on a small part of the Andromeda galaxy rather the whole thing.

Mirror’s Edge: Catalyst
Finally set for a February 23rd release next year, the reboot/prequel to the original 2008 “Mirror’s Edge” changes over from Unreal Engine 3 to the Frostbite Engine 3 for the new entry. The trailer screened showcased the revised take on the series which offers various story missions and optional goals along with more intuitive parkour. There are no specific levels per se, no loading times, and no gun sequences in the game (unlike the first).

Need for Speed
After so many sequels, it comes as no surprise that the “Need for Speed” franchise is undergoing a reboot for its move to next-gen only gaming. The new title sports the “richest customization ever seen” in a game in the series and boasts an open world twice the size of that in “Need for Speed Rivals”. The game also boasts five action-packed overlapping stories and five ways to play – Speed, Build, Crew, Style and Outlaw.

The one major new property that screened during the media address was an announcement trailer for “Unravel,” a cute physics-based platformer from Swedish developer Coldwood Interactive. The story follows a small creature made from yarn who can attach a string to fixed points in the environment and thus allowing you to jump gaps or attached to objects.

Star Wars: Galaxy of Heroes
Already dubbed “Star Wars Hearthstone,” ‘Galaxy of Heroes’ is an upcoming mobile collectable card-based RPG featuring characters from all six films. EA Capital Games is developing the title which will hit app stores later this year.

Star Wars: TOR – Knights of a Fallen Empire
EA is determined to dust off “Star Wars: The Old Republic” and make it a viable title again, and so their BioWare Austin division has done a new prequel expansion pack launching this October. ‘Knights of the Fallen Empire’ is free for all subscribers and deals with twin heirs and their struggle with their demanding father.

Sports Games
EA’s usual batch of annual sports games including Madden 16, FIFA 16, NBA Live 16 and NHL 16.