Bueller, “Lebowski” Enter The Film Registry

Librarian of Congress James H. Billington has announced the twenty-five films that have been added to National Film Registry this year. Each of these titles are set to be preserved for all time as “cinematic treasures.”

Amongst the highlights of this year’s batch are the Coens’ “The Big Lebowski,” Polanski’s “Rosemary’s Baby,” Spielberg’s “Saving Private Ryan,” the original “House of Wax” and “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory,” the John Wayne classic “Rio Bravo,” and iconic 1980s comedy “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”.

Every year, twenty-five films that are deemed “culturally, historically or aesthetically” significant have been added to the list. One condition – the films must be at least ten years old. This year’s full list includes:

13 Lakes (2004)
Bert Williams Lime Kiln Club Field Day (1913)
The Big Lebowski (1998)
Down Argentine Way (1940)
The Dragon Painter (1919)
Felicia (1965)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)
The Gang’s All Here (1943)
House of Wax (1953)
Into the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport (2000)
Little Big Man (1970)
Luxo Jr. (1986)
Moon Breath Beat (1980)
Please Don’t Bury Me Alive! (1976)
The Power and the Glory (1933)
Rio Bravo (1959)
Rosemary’s Baby (1968)
Ruggles of Red Gap (1935)
Saving Private Ryan (1998)
Shoes (1916)
State Fair (1933)
Unmasked (1917)
V-E + 1 (1945)
The Way of Peace (1947)
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)